2015 Election for the Federal Government of Canada

PRIME MINISTER Justin Trudeau - Liberal Party of Canada

42nd Parliament of the Federal Government of Canada

Duration 3rd December 2015 - Present

Election Held on 19th October 2015


Seats won Vs. Popular support

Summary Results | Full Results

PartyNumber of seatsPopular Support
Liberal Party of Canada7 (50 %)44.68 %
Conservative Party of Canada5 (35.71 %)37.39 %
New Democratic Party2 (14.29 %)13.65 %
Green Party of Canada0 (0 %)3.15 %
Other0 (0%)1.13 %

Total number of seats: 14

Wasted Votes

Voters cast 600,503 votes. 282,862 of them were wasted

94,540 votes for Liberal Party of Canada wasted

108,822 votes for Conservative Party of Canada wasted

53,764 votes for New Democratic Party wasted

18,944 votes for Green Party of Canada wasted

6,792 votes for Other wasted

Most Wasted Votes

Most of the time in our current system more than half of the votes cast in a district are wasted. The following table shows the worst of these.

Top Five Most Wasted Votes | All Over Half Wasted

DistrictPercent Votes Wasted
Elmwood--Transcona65.86 %
Kildonan--St. Paul57.34 %
Churchill--Keewatinook Aski54.96 %
Dauphin--Swan River--Neepawa53.66 %

More than half of the votes cast in 4 districts were wasted. Almost 29 % of all districts