2008 Election for the Federal Government of Canada

PRIME MINISTER Stephen Harper - Conservative Party of Canada

40th Parliament of the Federal Government of Canada

Duration 18th November 2008 - 26th March 2011

Election Held on 14th October 2008

New Westminster--Coquitlam - British Columbia

CandidateNumber of votesElected
Dawn Black (New Democratic Party)20787X
Yonah Martin (Conservative Party of Canada)19299
Michelle Hassen (Liberal Party of Canada)5615
Marshall Smith (Green Party of Canada)3574
Lewis C. Dahlby (Libertarian Party of Canada)314
Roland Verrier (Marxist-Leninist Party of Canada)103

Voters cast 49,692 valid votes.

19,299 votes for Conservative Party of Canada wasted

5,615 votes for Liberal Party of Canada wasted

3,574 votes for Green Party of Canada wasted

417 votes for Other wasted