2008 Election for the Federal Government of Canada

PRIME MINISTER Stephen Harper - Conservative Party of Canada

40th Parliament of the Federal Government of Canada

Duration 18th November 2008 - 26th March 2011

Election Held on 14th October 2008

Edmonton--Strathcona - Alberta

CandidateNumber of votesElected
Linda Duncan (New Democratic Party)20103X
Rahim Jaffer (Conservative Party of Canada)19640
Claudette Roy (Liberal Party of Canada)4279
Jane Thrall (Green Party of Canada)3040
Kevan Hunter (Marxist-Leninist Party of Canada)147

Voters cast 47,209 valid votes.

19,640 votes for Conservative Party of Canada wasted

4,279 votes for Liberal Party of Canada wasted

3,040 votes for Green Party of Canada wasted

147 votes for Other wasted