2008 Election for the Federal Government of Canada

PRIME MINISTER Stephen Harper - Conservative Party of Canada

40th Parliament of the Federal Government of Canada

Duration 18th November 2008 - 26th March 2011

Election Held on 14th October 2008

Mississauga--Erindale - Ontario

CandidateNumber of votesElected
Bob Dechert (Conservative Party of Canada)23863X
Omar Alghabra (Liberal Party of Canada)23466
Mustafa Rizvi (New Democratic Party)4774
Richard Pietro (Green Party of Canada)3636
Dagmar Sullivan (Marxist-Leninist Party of Canada)129

Voters cast 55,868 valid votes.

23,466 votes for Liberal Party of Canada wasted

4,774 votes for New Democratic Party wasted

3,636 votes for Green Party of Canada wasted

129 votes for Other wasted