2008 Election for the Federal Government of Canada

PRIME MINISTER Stephen Harper - Conservative Party of Canada

40th Parliament of the Federal Government of Canada

Duration 18th November 2008 - 26th March 2011

Election Held on 14th October 2008

Portneuf--Jacques-Cartier - Quebec

CandidateNumber of votesElected
André Arthur (Independent)15063X
Richard Côté (Bloc Québécois)14401
Stéphane Asselin (Liberal Party of Canada)7320
André Turgeon (New Democratic Party)5707
Nathan John Weatherdon (Green Party of Canada)1452
Jean Paradis (Independent)1039

Voters cast 44,982 valid votes.

14,401 votes for Bloc Québécois wasted

7,320 votes for Liberal Party of Canada wasted

5,707 votes for New Democratic Party wasted

1,452 votes for Green Party of Canada wasted