2008 Election for the Federal Government of Canada

PRIME MINISTER Stephen Harper - Conservative Party of Canada

40th Parliament of the Federal Government of Canada

Duration 18th November 2008 - 26th March 2011

Election Held on 14th October 2008

Marc-Aurèle-Fortin - Quebec

CandidateNumber of votesElected
Serge Ménard (Bloc Québécois)25552X
Robert Frégeau (Liberal Party of Canada)13728
Claude Moreau (Conservative Party of Canada)7759
Benoît Beauchamp (New Democratic Party)6907
Lise Bissonnette (Green Party of Canada)2178

Voters cast 56,124 valid votes.

13,728 votes for Liberal Party of Canada wasted

7,759 votes for Conservative Party of Canada wasted

6,907 votes for New Democratic Party wasted

2,178 votes for Green Party of Canada wasted