2008 Election for the Federal Government of Canada

PRIME MINISTER Stephen Harper - Conservative Party of Canada

40th Parliament of the Federal Government of Canada

Duration 18th November 2008 - 26th March 2011

Election Held on 14th October 2008

Saanich--Gulf Islands - British Columbia

CandidateNumber of votesElected
Gary Lunn (Conservative Party of Canada)27991X
Briony Penn (Liberal Party of Canada)25366
Andrew Lewis (Green Party of Canada)6742
Julian West (New Democratic Party)3667
Dale P. Leier (Libertarian Party of Canada)246
Patricia O'Brien (Western Block Party)195
Jeremy Arney (Canadian Action Party)139
Dan Moreau (Christian Heritage Party of Canada)114

Voters cast 64,460 valid votes.

25,366 votes for Liberal Party of Canada wasted

6,742 votes for Green Party of Canada wasted

3,667 votes for New Democratic Party wasted

694 votes for Other wasted