2008 Election for the Federal Government of Canada

PRIME MINISTER Stephen Harper - Conservative Party of Canada

40th Parliament of the Federal Government of Canada

Duration 18th November 2008 - 26th March 2011

Election Held on 14th October 2008

Welland - Ontario

CandidateNumber of votesElected
Malcolm Allen (New Democratic Party)16842X
Alf Kiers (Conservative Party of Canada)16542
John Maloney (Liberal Party of Canada)14295
Jennifer Mooradian (Green Party of Canada)2816
Jody Di Bartolomeo (Independent)569
Ron Walker (Marxist-Leninist Party of Canada)114

Voters cast 51,178 valid votes.

16,542 votes for Conservative Party of Canada wasted

14,295 votes for Liberal Party of Canada wasted

2,816 votes for Green Party of Canada wasted

683 votes for Other wasted