2008 Election for the Federal Government of Canada

PRIME MINISTER Stephen Harper - Conservative Party of Canada

40th Parliament of the Federal Government of Canada

Duration 18th November 2008 - 26th March 2011

Election Held on 14th October 2008

Ottawa--Vanier - Ontario

CandidateNumber of votesElected
Mauril Bélanger (Liberal Party of Canada)23948X
Patrick Glémaud (Conservative Party of Canada)14138
Trevor Haché (New Democratic Party)8845
Akbar Manoussi (Green Party of Canada)4447
Robert Taylor-Larter (Independent)227
Christian Legeais (Marxist-Leninist Party of Canada)130
Michel St-Onge (Canadian Action Party)100

Voters cast 51,835 valid votes.

14,138 votes for Conservative Party of Canada wasted

8,845 votes for New Democratic Party wasted

4,447 votes for Green Party of Canada wasted

457 votes for Other wasted