2008 Election for the Federal Government of Canada

PRIME MINISTER Stephen Harper - Conservative Party of Canada

40th Parliament of the Federal Government of Canada

Duration 18th November 2008 - 26th March 2011

Election Held on 14th October 2008

Mississauga--Brampton South - Ontario

CandidateNumber of votesElected
Navdeep Bains (Liberal Party of Canada)21220X
Salma Ataullahjan (Conservative Party of Canada)14664
Karan Pandher (New Democratic Party)5268
Grace Yogaretnam (Green Party of Canada)2947
Tim Sullivan (Marxist-Leninist Party of Canada)395

Voters cast 44,494 valid votes.

14,664 votes for Conservative Party of Canada wasted

5,268 votes for New Democratic Party wasted

2,947 votes for Green Party of Canada wasted

395 votes for Other wasted