2008 Election for the Federal Government of Canada

PRIME MINISTER Stephen Harper - Conservative Party of Canada

40th Parliament of the Federal Government of Canada

Duration 18th November 2008 - 26th March 2011

Election Held on 14th October 2008

Guelph - Ontario

CandidateNumber of votesElected
Frank Valeriote (Liberal Party of Canada)18974X
Gloria Kovach (Conservative Party of Canada)17186
Mike Nagy (Green Party of Canada)12454
Tom King (New Democratic Party)9713
Kornelis Klevering (Marijuana Party)166
Philip Bender (Libertarian Party of Canada)159
Drew Garvie (Communist Party of Canada)77
Karen Levenson (Animal Alliance Environment Voters Party of Canada)73
John Turmel (Independent)58
Manuel Couto (Marxist-Leninist Party of Canada)29

Voters cast 58,889 valid votes.

17,186 votes for Conservative Party of Canada wasted

12,454 votes for Green Party of Canada wasted

9,713 votes for New Democratic Party wasted

562 votes for Other wasted