2008 Election for the Federal Government of Canada

PRIME MINISTER Stephen Harper - Conservative Party of Canada

40th Parliament of the Federal Government of Canada

Duration 18th November 2008 - 26th March 2011

Election Held on 14th October 2008

Elgin--Middlesex--London - Ontario

CandidateNumber of votesElected
Joe Preston (Conservative Party of Canada)22970X
Suzanne van Bommel (Liberal Party of Canada)11169
Ryan Dolby (New Democratic Party)9135
Noel Burgon (Green Party of Canada)3241
Carl Hiemstra (Christian Heritage Party of Canada)619
Michael van Holst (Independent)243
Will Arlow (Canadian Action Party)96

Voters cast 47,473 valid votes.

11,169 votes for Liberal Party of Canada wasted

9,135 votes for New Democratic Party wasted

3,241 votes for Green Party of Canada wasted

958 votes for Other wasted