2008 Election for the Federal Government of Canada

PRIME MINISTER Stephen Harper - Conservative Party of Canada

40th Parliament of the Federal Government of Canada

Duration 18th November 2008 - 26th March 2011

Election Held on 14th October 2008


Seats won Vs. Popular support

Summary Results | Full Results

PartyNumber of seatsPopular Support
Conservative Party of Canada13 (92.86 %)53.84 %
Liberal Party of Canada1 (7.14 %)14.87 %
New Democratic Party0 (0 %)25.49 %
Green Party of Canada0 (0 %)5.53 %
Other0 (0%)0.27 %

Total number of seats: 14

Wasted Votes

Voters cast 418,216 votes. 188,834 of them were wasted

12,798 votes for Conservative Party of Canada wasted

106,618 votes for New Democratic Party wasted

45,166 votes for Liberal Party of Canada wasted

23,109 votes for Green Party of Canada wasted

1,143 votes for Other wasted

Most Wasted Votes

Most of the time in our current system more than half of the votes cast in a district are wasted. The following table shows the worst of these.

Top Five Most Wasted Votes | All Over Half Wasted

DistrictPercent Votes Wasted
Palliser55.88 %
Saskatoon--Rosetown--Biggar54.61 %
Wascana53.92 %
Desnethé--Missinippi--Churchill River53.33 %

More than half of the votes cast in 4 districts were wasted. Almost 29 % of all districts