2008 Election for the Federal Government of Canada

PRIME MINISTER Stephen Harper - Conservative Party of Canada

40th Parliament of the Federal Government of Canada

Duration 18th November 2008 - 26th March 2011

Election Held on 14th October 2008

Esquimalt--Juan de Fuca - British Columbia

CandidateNumber of votesElected
Keith Martin (Liberal Party of Canada)20042X
Troy DeSouza (Conservative Party of Canada)19974
Jennifer Burgis (New Democratic Party)13322
Brian G. Gordon (Green Party of Canada)4854
Philip G. Ney (Independent)309
Brad Rhodes (Canadian Action Party)130

Voters cast 58,631 valid votes.

19,974 votes for Conservative Party of Canada wasted

13,322 votes for New Democratic Party wasted

4,854 votes for Green Party of Canada wasted

439 votes for Other wasted