2008 Election for the Federal Government of Canada

PRIME MINISTER Stephen Harper - Conservative Party of Canada

40th Parliament of the Federal Government of Canada

Duration 18th November 2008 - 26th March 2011

Election Held on 14th October 2008

Toronto--Danforth - Ontario

CandidateNumber of votesElected
Jack Layton (New Democratic Party)20323X
Andrew Lang (Liberal Party of Canada)13336
Sharon Howarth (Green Party of Canada)5995
Christina Perreault (Conservative Party of Canada)5287
Marie Crawford (Animal Alliance Environment Voters Party of Canada)175
John Richardson (Independent)130
Marcell Rodden (Marxist-Leninist Party of Canada)87
Bahman Yazdanfar (Canadian Action Party)54

Voters cast 45,387 valid votes.

13,336 votes for Liberal Party of Canada wasted

5,995 votes for Green Party of Canada wasted

5,287 votes for Conservative Party of Canada wasted

446 votes for Other wasted