2008 Election for the Federal Government of Canada

PRIME MINISTER Stephen Harper - Conservative Party of Canada

40th Parliament of the Federal Government of Canada

Duration 18th November 2008 - 26th March 2011

Election Held on 14th October 2008

Sault Ste. Marie - Ontario

CandidateNumber of votesElected
Tony Martin (New Democratic Party)16572X
Cameron Ross (Conservative Party of Canada)15461
Paul Bichler (Liberal Party of Canada)6870
Luke Macmichael (Green Party of Canada)1774
Cory McLeod (First Peoples National Party of Canada)235
Mike Taffarel (Marxist-Leninist Party of Canada)81

Voters cast 40,993 valid votes.

15,461 votes for Conservative Party of Canada wasted

6,870 votes for Liberal Party of Canada wasted

1,774 votes for Green Party of Canada wasted

316 votes for Other wasted