2008 Election for the Federal Government of Canada

PRIME MINISTER Stephen Harper - Conservative Party of Canada

40th Parliament of the Federal Government of Canada

Duration 18th November 2008 - 26th March 2011

Election Held on 14th October 2008

Oshawa - Ontario

CandidateNumber of votesElected
Colin Carrie (Conservative Party of Canada)19951X
Mike Shields (New Democratic Party)16750
Sean Godfrey (Liberal Party of Canada)7741
Pat Gostlin (Green Party of Canada)3374
Peter Vogel (Christian Heritage Party of Canada)246
David Gershuny (Marxist-Leninist Party of Canada)117
Alex Kreider (Canadian Action Party)52

Voters cast 48,231 valid votes.

16,750 votes for New Democratic Party wasted

7,741 votes for Liberal Party of Canada wasted

3,374 votes for Green Party of Canada wasted

415 votes for Other wasted