2008 Election for the Federal Government of Canada

PRIME MINISTER Stephen Harper - Conservative Party of Canada

40th Parliament of the Federal Government of Canada

Duration 18th November 2008 - 26th March 2011

Election Held on 14th October 2008

Newmarket--Aurora - Ontario

CandidateNumber of votesElected
Lois Brown (Conservative Party of Canada)24873X
Tim Jones (Liberal Party of Canada)18250
Mike Seaward (New Democratic Party)4548
Glenn Hubbers (Green Party of Canada)4381
Dorian Baxter (Progressive Canadian Party)1004
Ray Luff (Christian Heritage Party of Canada)205

Voters cast 53,261 valid votes.

18,250 votes for Liberal Party of Canada wasted

4,548 votes for New Democratic Party wasted

4,381 votes for Green Party of Canada wasted

1,209 votes for Other wasted