2008 Election for the Federal Government of Canada

PRIME MINISTER Stephen Harper - Conservative Party of Canada

40th Parliament of the Federal Government of Canada

Duration 18th November 2008 - 26th March 2011

Election Held on 14th October 2008

Newfoundland and Labrador

Seats won Vs. Popular support

Summary Results | Full Results

PartyNumber of seatsPopular Support
Liberal Party of Canada6 (85.71 %)46.75 %
New Democratic Party1 (14.29 %)33.73 %
Conservative Party of Canada0 (0 %)16.57 %
Other0 (0%)2.94 %

Total number of seats: 7

Wasted Votes

Voters cast 194,695 votes. 78,000 of them were wasted

5,211 votes for Liberal Party of Canada wasted

34,799 votes for New Democratic Party wasted

32,261 votes for Conservative Party of Canada wasted

5,729 votes for Other wasted

Most Wasted Votes

Most of the time in our current system more than half of the votes cast in a district are wasted. The following table shows the worst of these.

Top Five Most Wasted Votes | All Over Half Wasted

DistrictPercent Votes Wasted
St. John's South--Mount Pearl56.68 %
Avalon54.72 %

More than half of the votes cast in 2 districts were wasted. Almost 29 % of all districts