2008 Election for the Federal Government of Canada

PRIME MINISTER Stephen Harper - Conservative Party of Canada

40th Parliament of the Federal Government of Canada

Duration 18th November 2008 - 26th March 2011

Election Held on 14th October 2008

Papineau - Quebec

CandidateNumber of votesElected
Justin Trudeau (Liberal Party of Canada)17724X
Vivian Barbot (Bloc Québécois)16535
Costa Zafiropoulos (New Democratic Party)3734
Mustaque Sarker (Conservative Party of Canada)3262
Ingrid Hein (Green Party of Canada)1213
Mahmood Raza Baig (Independent)267

Voters cast 42,735 valid votes.

16,535 votes for Bloc Québécois wasted

3,734 votes for New Democratic Party wasted

3,262 votes for Conservative Party of Canada wasted

1,480 votes for Other wasted