2008 Election for the Federal Government of Canada

PRIME MINISTER Stephen Harper - Conservative Party of Canada

40th Parliament of the Federal Government of Canada

Duration 18th November 2008 - 26th March 2011

Election Held on 14th October 2008

Halifax - Nova Scotia

CandidateNumber of votesElected
Megan Leslie (New Democratic Party)19252X
Catherine Meade (Liberal Party of Canada)12458
Ted Larsen (Conservative Party of Canada)9295
Darryl Whetter (Green Party of Canada)3931
Tony Seed (Marxist-Leninist Party of Canada)162

Voters cast 45,098 valid votes.

12,458 votes for Liberal Party of Canada wasted

9,295 votes for Conservative Party of Canada wasted

3,931 votes for Green Party of Canada wasted

162 votes for Other wasted