2008 Election for the Federal Government of Canada

PRIME MINISTER Stephen Harper - Conservative Party of Canada

40th Parliament of the Federal Government of Canada

Duration 18th November 2008 - 26th March 2011

Election Held on 14th October 2008

St. John's South--Mount Pearl - Newfoundland and Labrador

CandidateNumber of votesElected
Siobhan Coady (Liberal Party of Canada)14920X
Ryan Cleary (New Democratic Party)13971
Merv Wiseman (Conservative Party of Canada)4324
Ted Warren (Green Party of Canada)643
Greg Byrne (Newfoundland and Labrador First Party)402
Terry Christopher Butler (Independent)179

Voters cast 34,439 valid votes.

13,971 votes for New Democratic Party wasted

4,324 votes for Conservative Party of Canada wasted

1,224 votes for Other wasted