2006 Election for the Federal Government of Canada

PRIME MINISTER Stephen Harper - Conservative Party of Canada

39th Parliament of the Federal Government of Canada

Duration 3rd April 2006 - 7th September 2008

Election Held on 23rd January 2006

Papineau - Quebec

CandidateNumber of votesElected
Vivian Barbot (Bloc Québécois)17775X
Pierre Pettigrew (Liberal Party of Canada)16785
Mustaque A. Sarker (Conservative Party of Canada)3630
Marc Hasbani (New Democratic Party)3358
Louis-Philippe Verenka (Green Party of Canada)1572
Peter Macrisopoulos (Marxist-Leninist Party of Canada)317
Mahmood-Raza Baig (Canadian Action Party)185

Voters cast 43,622 valid votes.

16,785 votes for Liberal Party of Canada wasted

3,630 votes for Conservative Party of Canada wasted

3,358 votes for New Democratic Party wasted

1,572 votes for Green Party of Canada wasted

502 votes for Other wasted