2006 Election for the Federal Government of Canada

PRIME MINISTER Stephen Harper - Conservative Party of Canada

39th Parliament of the Federal Government of Canada

Duration 3rd April 2006 - 7th September 2008

Election Held on 23rd January 2006

South Surrey--White Rock--Cloverdale - British Columbia

CandidateNumber of votesElected
Russ Hiebert (Conservative Party of Canada)26383X
Jim McMurtry (Liberal Party of Canada)17336
Libby Thornton (New Democratic Party)9525
Pierre Rovtar (Green Party of Canada)2980
Brian Marlatt (Progressive Canadian Party)293

Voters cast 56,517 valid votes.

17,336 votes for Liberal Party of Canada wasted

9,525 votes for New Democratic Party wasted

2,980 votes for Green Party of Canada wasted

293 votes for Other wasted