2006 Election for the Federal Government of Canada

PRIME MINISTER Stephen Harper - Conservative Party of Canada

39th Parliament of the Federal Government of Canada

Duration 3rd April 2006 - 7th September 2008

Election Held on 23rd January 2006

New Westminster--Coquitlam - British Columbia

CandidateNumber of votesElected
Dawn Black (New Democratic Party)19427X
Paul Forseth (Conservative Party of Canada)16494
Joyce Murray (Liberal Party of Canada)11931
Sven Biggs (Green Party of Canada)1496
Paul Warnett (Independent)1174
Dick Estey (Independent)123
Joseph Theriault (Marxist-Leninist Party of Canada)54

Voters cast 50,699 valid votes.

16,494 votes for Conservative Party of Canada wasted

11,931 votes for Liberal Party of Canada wasted

2,847 votes for Other wasted