2006 Election for the Federal Government of Canada

PRIME MINISTER Stephen Harper - Conservative Party of Canada

39th Parliament of the Federal Government of Canada

Duration 3rd April 2006 - 7th September 2008

Election Held on 23rd January 2006

Nanaimo--Alberni - British Columbia

CandidateNumber of votesElected
James Lunney (Conservative Party of Canada)26102X
Manjeet Uppal (New Democratic Party)20335
Jim Stewart (Liberal Party of Canada)12023
David Wright (Green Party of Canada)3379
R. L. Dusty Miller (Independent)920
Frank Wagner (Christian Heritage Party of Canada)136
Jen Fisher-Bradley (Canadian Action Party)113
Barbara Biley (Marxist-Leninist Party of Canada)94

Voters cast 63,102 valid votes.

20,335 votes for New Democratic Party wasted

12,023 votes for Liberal Party of Canada wasted

3,379 votes for Green Party of Canada wasted

1,263 votes for Other wasted