2006 Election for the Federal Government of Canada

PRIME MINISTER Stephen Harper - Conservative Party of Canada

39th Parliament of the Federal Government of Canada

Duration 3rd April 2006 - 7th September 2008

Election Held on 23rd January 2006

York--Simcoe - Ontario

CandidateNumber of votesElected
Peter Van Loan (Conservative Party of Canada)25685X
Kate Wilson (Liberal Party of Canada)16456
Sylvia Gerl (New Democratic Party)7139
John Dewar (Green Party of Canada)3719
Vicki Gunn (Christian Heritage Party of Canada)595

Voters cast 53,594 valid votes.

16,456 votes for Liberal Party of Canada wasted

7,139 votes for New Democratic Party wasted

3,719 votes for Green Party of Canada wasted

595 votes for Other wasted