2006 Election for the Federal Government of Canada

PRIME MINISTER Stephen Harper - Conservative Party of Canada

39th Parliament of the Federal Government of Canada

Duration 3rd April 2006 - 7th September 2008

Election Held on 23rd January 2006

Whitby--Oshawa - Ontario

CandidateNumber of votesElected
Jim Flaherty (Conservative Party of Canada)29294X
Judi Longfield (Liberal Party of Canada)25882
Maret Sadem-Thompson (New Democratic Party)8716
Ajay Krishnan (Green Party of Canada)2407
Marty Gobin (Libertarian Party of Canada)274
Tom Cochrane (Canadian Action Party)217

Voters cast 66,790 valid votes.

25,882 votes for Liberal Party of Canada wasted

8,716 votes for New Democratic Party wasted

2,407 votes for Green Party of Canada wasted

491 votes for Other wasted