2006 Election for the Federal Government of Canada

PRIME MINISTER Stephen Harper - Conservative Party of Canada

39th Parliament of the Federal Government of Canada

Duration 3rd April 2006 - 7th September 2008

Election Held on 23rd January 2006

Trinity--Spadina - Ontario

CandidateNumber of votesElected
Olivia Chow (New Democratic Party)28748X
Tony Ianno (Liberal Party of Canada)25067
Sam Goldstein (Conservative Party of Canada)5625
Thom Chapman (Green Party of Canada)2398
Asif Hossain (Progressive Canadian Party)392
Nick Lin (Marxist-Leninist Party of Canada)138
John Riddell (Canadian Action Party)82

Voters cast 62,450 valid votes.

25,067 votes for Liberal Party of Canada wasted

5,625 votes for Conservative Party of Canada wasted

2,398 votes for Green Party of Canada wasted

612 votes for Other wasted