2006 Election for the Federal Government of Canada

PRIME MINISTER Stephen Harper - Conservative Party of Canada

39th Parliament of the Federal Government of Canada

Duration 3rd April 2006 - 7th September 2008

Election Held on 23rd January 2006

Toronto--Danforth - Ontario

CandidateNumber of votesElected
Jack Layton (New Democratic Party)24412X
Deborah Coyne (Liberal Party of Canada)17256
Kren Clausen (Conservative Party of Canada)4992
Al Hart (Green Party of Canada)3583
Marcell Rodden (Marxist-Leninist Party of Canada)172

Voters cast 50,415 valid votes.

17,256 votes for Liberal Party of Canada wasted

4,992 votes for Conservative Party of Canada wasted

3,583 votes for Green Party of Canada wasted

172 votes for Other wasted