2006 Election for the Federal Government of Canada

PRIME MINISTER Stephen Harper - Conservative Party of Canada

39th Parliament of the Federal Government of Canada

Duration 3rd April 2006 - 7th September 2008

Election Held on 23rd January 2006

Sault Ste. Marie - Ontario

CandidateNumber of votesElected
Tony Martin (New Democratic Party)17979X
Christian Provenzano (Liberal Party of Canada)15825
Ken Walker (Conservative Party of Canada)11099
Mark Viitala (Green Party of Canada)1056
Guy Dumas (First Peoples National Party of Canada)225
Mike Taffarel (Marxist-Leninist Party of Canada)59

Voters cast 46,243 valid votes.

15,825 votes for Liberal Party of Canada wasted

11,099 votes for Conservative Party of Canada wasted

1,340 votes for Other wasted