2006 Election for the Federal Government of Canada

PRIME MINISTER Stephen Harper - Conservative Party of Canada

39th Parliament of the Federal Government of Canada

Duration 3rd April 2006 - 7th September 2008

Election Held on 23rd January 2006

Ottawa--Vanier - Ontario

CandidateNumber of votesElected
Mauril Bélanger (Liberal Party of Canada)23567X
Paul Benoit (Conservative Party of Canada)15970
Ric Dagenais (New Democratic Party)12145
Raphaël Thierrin (Green Party of Canada)3675
James C. Parsons (Progressive Canadian Party)221
Alexandre Legeais (Marxist-Leninist Party of Canada)117

Voters cast 55,695 valid votes.

15,970 votes for Conservative Party of Canada wasted

12,145 votes for New Democratic Party wasted

3,675 votes for Green Party of Canada wasted

338 votes for Other wasted