2006 Election for the Federal Government of Canada

PRIME MINISTER Stephen Harper - Conservative Party of Canada

39th Parliament of the Federal Government of Canada

Duration 3rd April 2006 - 7th September 2008

Election Held on 23rd January 2006

Ottawa Centre - Ontario

CandidateNumber of votesElected
Paul Dewar (New Democratic Party)24609X
Richard Mahoney (Liberal Party of Canada)19468
Keith Fountain (Conservative Party of Canada)15105
David Chernushenko (Green Party of Canada)6765
John Andrew Akpata (Marijuana Party)387
Anwar Syed (Independent)121
Stuart Ryan (Communist Party of Canada)102
Christian Legeais (Marxist-Leninist Party of Canada)69

Voters cast 66,626 valid votes.

19,468 votes for Liberal Party of Canada wasted

15,105 votes for Conservative Party of Canada wasted

6,765 votes for Green Party of Canada wasted

679 votes for Other wasted