2006 Election for the Federal Government of Canada

PRIME MINISTER Stephen Harper - Conservative Party of Canada

39th Parliament of the Federal Government of Canada

Duration 3rd April 2006 - 7th September 2008

Election Held on 23rd January 2006

Newmarket--Aurora - Ontario

CandidateNumber of votesElected
Belinda Stronach (Liberal Party of Canada)27176X
Lois Brown (Conservative Party of Canada)22376
Ed Chudak (New Democratic Party)5639
Glenn Hubbers (Green Party of Canada)2813
Dorian Baxter (Progressive Canadian Party)729
Peter Maloney (Canadian Action Party)79

Voters cast 58,812 valid votes.

22,376 votes for Conservative Party of Canada wasted

5,639 votes for New Democratic Party wasted

2,813 votes for Green Party of Canada wasted

808 votes for Other wasted