2006 Election for the Federal Government of Canada

PRIME MINISTER Stephen Harper - Conservative Party of Canada

39th Parliament of the Federal Government of Canada

Duration 3rd April 2006 - 7th September 2008

Election Held on 23rd January 2006

Halifax - Nova Scotia

CandidateNumber of votesElected
Alexa McDonough (New Democratic Party)23420X
Martin MacKinnon (Liberal Party of Canada)15437
Andrew House (Conservative Party of Canada)8993
Nick Wright (Green Party of Canada)1948
Tony Seed (Marxist-Leninist Party of Canada)164

Voters cast 49,962 valid votes.

15,437 votes for Liberal Party of Canada wasted

8,993 votes for Conservative Party of Canada wasted

1,948 votes for Green Party of Canada wasted

164 votes for Other wasted