2006 Election for the Federal Government of Canada

PRIME MINISTER Stephen Harper - Conservative Party of Canada

39th Parliament of the Federal Government of Canada

Duration 3rd April 2006 - 7th September 2008

Election Held on 23rd January 2006

Etobicoke--Lakeshore - Ontario

CandidateNumber of votesElected
Michael Ignatieff (Liberal Party of Canada)24337X
John Capobianco (Conservative Party of Canada)19613
Liam McHugh-Russell (New Democratic Party)8685
Philip Ridge (Green Party of Canada)2853
Cathy Holliday (Communist Party of Canada)186
Janice Murray (Marxist-Leninist Party of Canada)104

Voters cast 55,778 valid votes.

19,613 votes for Conservative Party of Canada wasted

8,685 votes for New Democratic Party wasted

2,853 votes for Green Party of Canada wasted

290 votes for Other wasted