2006 Election for the Federal Government of Canada

PRIME MINISTER Stephen Harper - Conservative Party of Canada

39th Parliament of the Federal Government of Canada

Duration 3rd April 2006 - 7th September 2008

Election Held on 23rd January 2006

Algoma--Manitoulin--Kapuskasing - Ontario

CandidateNumber of votesElected
Brent St. Denis (Liberal Party of Canada)14652X
Carol Hughes (New Democratic Party)13244
Ian West (Conservative Party of Canada)8957
Sarah Hutchinson (Green Party of Canada)1025
Will Morin (First Peoples National Party of Canada)338
Donald Milton Polmateer (Independent)164

Voters cast 38,380 valid votes.

13,244 votes for New Democratic Party wasted

8,957 votes for Conservative Party of Canada wasted

1,527 votes for Other wasted